Project Overview

Restaurant Type


Halal Certified

Your restaurant will be halal certified if you acquire a halal certification from an agency recognized by the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety and if you hire at least one Muslim operator or cook.

Major Requirements

You must have a halal food certificate and at least one Muslim operator or cook.

Self Certified

Your restaurant will be self-certified if you identify as a halal restaurant with a Muslim operator or cook.

Major Requirements

The establishment must hire one Muslim operator or cook.

Alcohol must not be available for sale.

All ingredients (including meat) must be halal.

Halal meat must be stored separately from other ingredients.

Pork, alcohol, and nonhalal meat must not be kept.

Cooking with liquor must be prohibited.

Alcohol must not be kept inside the kitchen.

The establishment must indicate which halal food is available (at the entrance or on the menu).

Muslim Friendly

Your restaurant will be Muslim-friendly if it partially or entirely offers halal dishes with alcohol allowed.

Major Requirements

You must partially or entirely use halal ingredients (including meat).

You must store halal meat separately from other ingredients (except vegetables and seafood).

You must not promote pork dishes as your signature menu items.

You must indicate which dishes are considered halal food (at the entrance or on the menu, except for vegetables and seafood).

Pork-Free

Even without a halal menu, your restaurant will be considered pork-free as long as you do not use pork in preparing your dishes.

Major Requirements

You are not allowed to use pork or any of its derivative products (such as ham, bacon, and broth).

Classification Standard

* The certification assurance agencies recognized by the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety must refer to the “Regulation for Approving Reliability of Certification. Assurance Agency for Labels, Advertisements of Foods and Livestock Products” by the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety.

** Halal Menus: Dishes that use ingredients such as halal meat, seafood, vegetables, and tofu (pork-free)

*** Please inquire about tourist hotels.